December 19, 2023

The star-studded award ceremony, held on Thursday 14th December at London’s Steel Yard, marked the 17th edition of the event and celebrated the incredible achievements of British electronic music artists. The sold-out ceremony was a testament to the thriving electronic music scene in the UK and showcased the immense talent and creativity within the industry.

Among the highlights of the evening were the captivating performances from Ben Hemsley, Jaguar, Sammy Virji, Taylah Elaine, and p-rallel, which added an electrifying atmosphere to the event. The audience was treated to a night of unforgettable music and entertainment.

One of the most prestigious awards of the night, Best DJ, was rightfully awarded to Scottish DJ and producer Ewan McVicar. This accolade was the cherry on top of a remarkable year for McVicar, who enjoyed tremendous success with tracks like ‘Groove Thang,’ released on Ministry of Sound Recordings in July. Additionally, his remixes for renowned artists such as Groove Armada and The Chemical Brothers further solidified his position as a leading figure in the electronic music scene.

Geordie DJ and producer Ben Hemsley took home the Best Producer award, recognizing his exceptional talent and contributions to the industry. Hemsley had a busy year, marked by outstanding releases on esteemed labels like Ministry of Sound and his very own imprint, Bebé Recordings, which he launched in 2022. His dedication to pushing boundaries and creating innovative music has undoubtedly earned him this well-deserved recognition.

Another artist who stood out in the industry was Barry Can’t Swim, who was awarded Best Breakthrough Artist. This accolade acknowledged Can’t Swim’s impressive year and highlighted his potential for future success. With captivating tracks and a unique style, Can’t Swim has made a significant impact on the electronic music scene, and this award serves as a testament to his talent.

The Best Label award went to Michael Bibi & PAWSA’s ‘Solid Grooves,’ a testament to their commitment to delivering exceptional music. Their label has consistently released high-quality tracks, gaining recognition and respect from fans and industry professionals alike. Additionally, fabric’s imprint ‘fabric originals’ was named Breakthrough Label, reflecting their outstanding contributions to the industry over the past year.

Chase & Status, the renowned electronic music duo, had a remarkable night, winning two awards. Their album ‘2 Ruff, Vol. 1’ was crowned Best Album, showcasing their ability to create captivating and genre-defying music. Additionally, their collaboration with Bou, ‘Baddadan’ featuring IRAH, Flowdan, Trigga, and Takura, won Best Track. These awards are a testament to Chase & Status’ enduring talent and their ability to consistently deliver exceptional music.

Radio 1 DJ and UTOPIA label boss Jaguar received the Underground Hero award for her incredible work with The Jaguar Foundation. This award recognizes her commitment to supporting and championing grassroots UK music communities. Jaguar’s dedication to nurturing emerging talent and providing opportunities for artists has made a significant impact on the industry, and this award is a well-deserved recognition of her efforts.

In the club and nightlife categories, Manchester’s Hidden was named Best Club, solidifying its reputation as a premier destination for electronic music enthusiasts. The venue has consistently delivered unforgettable experiences and has become a staple in the UK clubbing scene. Additionally, the Louder Drum & Bass brand ‘Worried About Henry’ won Best Club Event, showcasing their commitment to curating exceptional events that celebrate the vibrant drum and bass community. Rinse FM who celebrate becoming 30 next year were presented the Outstanding Contribution to electronic music culture award.

Overall, the 17th edition of the award ceremony was a night to remember, celebrating the achievements and contributions of British electronic music artists. The event highlighted the incredible talent within the industry and served as a platform to recognize and honor those who have made a significant impact on the electronic music scene.

Some other Articles